Rojas wins Johnny Warren Medal

Written By Unknown on Senin, 15 April 2013 | 23.40

Young star ... Rojas wins the Johnny Warren Medal and the NAB Rising Star award. Source: Brett Costello / News Limited

Melbourne Victory star Marco Rojas polled more than twice the votes of Italian superstar Alessandro Del Piero to take out the Johnny Warren Medal for the A-League player of the year award on Monday night.

New Zealand representative Rojas polled 908 votes from his fellow players, with Sydney FC marquee star Del Piero next best on 449 in his successful maiden season in the A-League.

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash Player

It was a red-letter night for 21 year-old Rojas at Sydney's Hilton Hotel, where he also scooped the young player of the year award.

Golden Boot winner Daniel McBreen, who led the A-League with 17 goals, was third in the Johnny Warren Medal, on 280 votes, followed by Central Coast clubmate and New Zealand international midfielder Michael McGlinchey (239), with Adelaide playmaker Dario Vidosic (222), rounding out the top five.

Midfielder Rojas has yet to decide whether he will play overseas next season or stay with Victory.

"I just wanted to finish the season first before I thought about it,'' Rojas said.

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash Player

"Now it's finished I'll sit down with dad and think about it.

"I'll have a look at what's been offered to me and see what's the best for me, what's going to help me further develop my football.''

Melbourne midfielder Marcos Flores won the goal of the year award for his round five effort against Wellington Phoenix.

First-season franchise and Premier's Plate winner Western Sydney Wanderers picked up two awards.

Tony Popovic was named coach of the year and goalkeeper Ante Covic won the Golden Glove award.

Brisbane Roar collected the fair play award and Peter Green referee of the year.

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash Player

Roar's Matildas star Clare Polkinghorne won the Julie Dolan Medal for the W-League player of the season.

Among the major W-League winners were Brisbane's Tameka Butt (players' player of the year), Perth's Katie Gill (Golden Boot), Newcastle's Emily van Egmond (goal of the year), Canberra's Mackenzie Arnold (goalkeeper of the year) and Melbourne's Stephanie Catley (young player of the year).

Ironically coach of the year went to former Melbourne Victory mentor Mike Mulvey, who left the W-League club during the season to take over as Brisbane Roar men's coach.

Johnny Warren Medal - Marco Rojas

NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award - Marco Rojas

Goalkeeper of the Year (Golden Glove) - Ante Covic - Western Sydney Wanderers

Golden Boot - Daniel McBreen - Central Coast Mariners - 17 Goals

Goal of the Year - Marcos Flores - Melbourne Victory v Wellington Phoenix - Round 5: 5 Nov 2012

Coach of the Year - Tony Popovic - Western Sydney Wanderers

Referee of the Year - Peter Green

Fair play award - Brisbane Roar FC

Anda sedang membaca artikel tentang

Rojas wins Johnny Warren Medal

Dengan url

Anda boleh menyebar luaskannya atau mengcopy paste-nya

Rojas wins Johnny Warren Medal

namun jangan lupa untuk meletakkan link

Rojas wins Johnny Warren Medal

sebagai sumbernya

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar Techie Blogger Techie Blogger